{Review} The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Seriously Amazing

Seriously Amazing

The Girl of Fire and Thorns
by Rae Carson
Series: The Girl of Fire and Thorns
Published: September 20th 2011
Publisher: Greenwillow
ISBN: 0062026488 (ISBN13: 9780062026484)
Pages: 424
Source: Bought Myself
Reading Level: 16 and up
Shelf Award: Original, 2012 Favorites
Rating:  5 Stars (and then some)

Goodreads Summary:

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

My Thoughts:

Cover Love: It isn’t an exceptional cover but who needs a pretty cover when the words inside are so exceptional? I do love the Godstone on the cover however!

Review:

LOVE AT FIRST PAGE!!BAM! Floored. Totally blindsided! I have to say I did NOT expect to fall so deeply in love (and awe) with this book. I felt like I went back in the less complicated time of my youth where fantasy books were almost exclusively what I read. And I have fallen back in love with the genre. It was as multifaceted a piece of art as a Godstone, which in the book means whoever the bearer is, will have an exceptional although tragic destiny.

Well the first surprise came on the very first page of the book where Elisa is trying out her wedding dress. YES! A wedding dress! I don’t know why exactly but that is when I decided it was going to be a good book. Then the reading goes on and you are taken on a journey of, not only an exceptionally visual story, but of self discovery, coming of age and empowerment from Elisa. I don’t remember a heroine that impressed me as much as Elisa did, I was so proud of her and how she became a woman who loved herself. Her development is subtle yet incredibly substantial. And it doesn’t happen overnight. Her transformation is still in progress as the book ends.

There are some major events that happen, 2 in particular I did not see coming so I had to re-read the scene. At first I was angry with the author but I am sure she had reasons.

Bottom Line:

Simply put: a work of art. Will I read The Crown of Embers? OH HELLS YEAH!

Recommended for:

Readers who love a perfectly rounded story with characters to fall in love with and set in a fantastic world!
4 comments on “{Review} The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

  1. Ahhhh! I am so excited now. I’ve been putting this book off for ages, but everytime I see it at the book store I grab it and wander around for a bit before deciding against it.Loved the review, and it just made up my mind for me 🙂

I love reading comments and I'll try to reply to them all.

